Pacifica Beach & Pier

So, I have a rather rediculous confession to make. Technically speaking we live at the beach, but in the three years that we have lived here I have only walked on the local sand twice. TWICE! I know, I know…that’s just silly. But here’s the thing, I really don’t think of the San Francisco Bay area as a beach town, so I really do forget that there is beach close and accessable to enjoy. San Francisco just doesn’t have that beach town feel. I mean it’s a big city! My brain just doesn’t equate “big city” with “the beach.”

But regardless, it’s silly. And last week we had a string of really warm, sunny (by Bay Area standards) days that just begged for a beach chair, a good book and some sunscreen.  So we meandered our way down to the Pacifica Pier and Beach for a day of sitting in the sun, and consequently (and despite multiple apllication of admitedly expired sunscreen) obtaining lobster sun burns. Seriously, a week later and I’m still peeling. I guess sunscreen really does go bad. Lesson learned….But I digress.

Anyway…

This is the Pier:

IMG_3622All of those little dots along the pier are people crab fishing. At first we thought they were regular fish fishing, but realized that they were hooking crab. I didn’t even realize that you could catch crab on a fishing pole. They use these gross little boxes of raw squid as lures and aparently find great success. Even though it seems like a rather mundane way to spend the day, expecially considering that while we were there we only saw one guy catch a crab, it still seems worth while. I mean who doesn’t love crab, expecially crab you caught yourself and paid nothing for?

IMG_3654

IMG_3655The waves were pretty big that day too.

IMG_3634

IMG_3635

IMG_3637Here are some more beach shots.

IMG_3648

IMG_3649

I thought that Tim’s shirt nicely matched the American flag. It was a photo begging to be taken.

IMG_3662I like watching dogs run on the beach.

IMG_3667And checking out peoples beach gear. Some people really have it all figured out!

IMG_3669And then there was this guy. Yeah, I don’t even know what to say about this. Trucker hat. Empty beer bottles. Clearly, no sunscreen bottle in site. There is so much wrong with this picture, lol.

IMG_3673Turn around from the ocean and this is some of what you will find behind you.

IMG_3672

IMG_3692

IMG_3693That’s about it. I guess since it’s basically summer and all that,we should probably try to spend more time at the beach. If for no other reason than snapping pics of cliche passed out college kids on the sand…

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment! Let's chat.

