Wedding Update Thursday

It’s the official countdown!  Ten days to go, and I’m happy to report that the list is getting very small!

The biggest thing we’ve accomplished this last week was one of the things we’ve flat out been avoiding for a long time. Picking wedding music.  You wouldn’t think that this would take so long (or be so hard) but by the time we finally sat down to do it, it took us four hours! Part of what takes so long is actually listening to the song options. Figuring out if they are upbeat enough, or slow enough, or if they are just simply too long.  The other part of the problem is finding a nice combination of our favorite genre’s of music and making that work with our guests favorites too (and the classics) without making it sound like a random disjointed mashup of Motown meets Garth Brooks.  There’s picking the song I walk down the aisle to (because I hate the traditional Here Comes the Bride), there’s a first dance song, a bouquet tossing song, a garter tossing song, a cake (or in our case a pie) cutting song, a last dance song, and about a dozen others (some of which we simply decided not to do),  not to mention the list of songs that we don’t want the DJ to play.  At the end of the day I think we did a pretty good job , but you still may end up with “Sign, Sealed, Delivered (I’m Yours),” awkwardly followed by “I’ve Got Friends in Low Places.”  Just deal with it. You’ll all be full of beer anyway, so it will likely seem like the most natural of song pairings 🙂

Next up, I went back for my final dress fitting and picked up my dress. And I’ll be damned if it didn’t fit just fine! Who knows what my problem was last time, because there was no problem getting into it yesterday. Yay!

Also, as I am a blogger, you can imagine the sheer volume of wedding blogs I’ve been reading over the past year. Well, I made a decision here with so little time to go. I’ve completely sworn off reading any more wedding blog posts or wedding magazines. No more random projects, no new DIY’s for me (sorry Martha Stewart), no etiquette suggestions, or tips on seating charts.  Just gotta go with what I’ve got.

And other then sending final payments to a bunch of vendors, that’s pretty much what we did this last week.  There will likely be one more Wedding Update Thursday post next week (from Portland, likely), before we get hitched. Stay tuned!

Leave a comment! Let's chat.

